Sci-Fi November Bingo Challenge

Yay second reading challenge! (I’m sort of addicted to these things.) Leanne made the coolest bingo board for Sci-Fi Month (hosted by Rinn), and I can’t wait to get started! As per her suggestion, I’m going to keep the challenge open until I get a blackout because I want to try to read 24 different sci-fi books, and that’s not going to happen within a month… well, unless I do nothing but read all day, but I don’t think my university will be too happy about that.

20131101_SciFiNovember_complete

B1: A book with alternate realities (The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker)
B2: A sci-fi book mixed with horror (Feed by Mira Grant)
B3: A debut sci-fi novel (The Forsaken by Lisa M. Stasse)
B4: A book with awesome technology (Uglies by Scott Westerfeld)
B5: A book set on another planet (Crystal Singer by Anne McCaffrey)

I1: A book that’s a space western (Freedom’s Landing by Anne McCaffrey)
I2: A book with robots/AI (Glitches by Marissa Meyer)
I3: A book with mind-based super powers (To Ride Pegasus by Anne McCaffrey)
I4: A book with clones (The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer)
I5: A book with aliens (Freedom’s Choice by Anne McCaffrey)

N1: A book involving a war (Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card)
N2: A book involving dreams (The Giver by Lois Lowry)
N3: FREE! (Lexicon by Max Barry)
N4: A book with mutations (The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey)
N5: A book with time travel (Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card)

G1: A book set underneath the earth (The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau)
G2: A book set in the future (Specials by Scott Westerfeld)
G3: A book with a dystopian setting (Blood Red Road by Moira Young)
G4: A book with cyborgs (Cinder by Marissa Meyer)
G5: A book set in an alternate past (The Clockwork Scarab by Colleen Gleason)

O1: A book with a non-human MC (The Humans by Matt Haig)
O2: A book with spaceships (Dangerous by Shannon Hale)
O3: A book with laser weapons (Libriomancer by Jim C. Hines)
O4: A book set in post-apocalypse (Pretties by Scott Westerfeld)
O5: A book with genetic engineering (Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith)

Let me know if you have any recommendations for the squares I haven’t filled up, or any other sci-fi books that you’ve enjoyed!

19 thoughts on “Sci-Fi November Bingo Challenge

  1. Oh yay, I’m so glad you’re participating in the Bingo challenge Sophie! Also you have the cuuuutest little robot mark-off graphic! ^_^

    I’ve linked to your challenge post on my own Bingo post so people can stop by and check on your progress, and perhaps get some different books as square suggestions. I hope you enjoy playing!

    • Ahhh, thanks for adding me to your Bingo post, Leanne! Heehee, I was inspired by your shiny rocket mark-offs on your Bingo sheet. 😀 I didn’t plan out books based on the squares, so I’ll definitely be peeking at your list as well as everyone else’s for more inspiration in case I get stuck!

    • Thanks Rinn, I can’t wait to see your to-read list too! 🙂 I’m hoping to blackout by the end of this year, but we’ll see how that goes, haha. I know I’m going to have fun with this challenge regardless of how long it takes though!

  2. Hallo, Hallo!

    I am participating in this reading challenge as well! 🙂 I look forward to seeing how others’ are progressing on their Bingo cards as the month moves forward! 🙂 Did you ever read A Wrinkle in Time previously!? I simply adored it! I read it in order to read more non-fiction about Quantum Physics! It was the perfect gateway!

    • Yay!! I love your reading list, and it’s funny how we don’t have any overlaps in terms of book choices… that means I can basically double my list, right? 😛 I read A Wrinkle in Time in elementary school, and since the only thing I remember about it was that I really really liked it, I can’t wait to revisit it. And you’re right, physics and other hard sciences are so much more enjoyable when they’re incorporated into fiction books!

      • Hi Sophie,

        I wanted to say, that I am not finding a lot of overlaps in reading choices this month through SFN contributors! I think its interesting how we all are sort of selecting new books to introduce each other too! 🙂 I think if we can break down the harder sciences into the world of fiction it gives us a way to change the scope of our abilities to envision what the sciences are attempting to tell us because we’ve taken their essences and theories into the world of imagination! 🙂

        • I agree, Jorie! Imagination is so important in reading both non-fiction and fiction, and it’s interesting to think about where the different facets of sci-fi will lead us. I’m learning so much about science, and it’s only 6 days into sci-fi month, haha!

    • Thanks, William! I really like the Bingo idea too, although the number of squares on a Bingo board is more daunting than I thought it would be… but I’ll try my best. 🙂

    • I KNOW RIGHT? 😀 I like the flexibility too, and I think this is a great way to discover books outside my typical traditional sci-fi reads. You should totally join in after your vacation, Alicia!

Leave a comment