Nonfiction November: New To My TBR

November is coming to an end, and I’ve come away with a significantly longer TBR list than when I started Nonfiction November. My non-fiction to-read list is now the same length as my SF/F to-read list, which is really saying something! This week’s prompt is “New To My TBR”: It’s been a month of awesome nonfiction recommendations – which ones have you added to your TBR? So without further ado, here are my most anticipated non-fiction reads. . .

nfnew

1. The Lives of a Cell: Notes of a Biology Watcher by Lewis Thomas. Katie at Doing Dewey introduces this as “. . . a collection of short but thought-provoking essays which was sometimes humorous, sometimes inspiring, and always an insightful, approachable look at some of the wonders of biology.”

2. This Book Is Overdue!: How Librarians and Cybrarians Can Save Us All by Marilyn Johnson. Andi at Estella’s Revenge declares that this is “one of those books [she shouts] from the rooftops . . . just read this book and it will blow your mind.”

3. The Reading Promise: My Father and the Books We Shared by Alice Ozma & Jim Brozina. Musings From A Bookmammal writes that this book “[is] a great testimony to the power of books and the joys of raising a reader.”

4. Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley. Andi at Estella’s Revenge calls this “illustrated memoir gold.”

5. What the Most Successful People Do Before Breakfast by Laura Vanderkam. Kim at Sophisticated Dorkiness says that this book “. . . looks at strategies for maximizing mornings, weekends and work.”

6. Five Days at Memorial: Life and Death in a Storm-Ravaged Hospital by Sheri Fink. Lu (Leslie) at Regular Rumination as well as several others were all reading this, and I thought the plot sounded really interesting.

I want to thank Lu and Kim for hosting Nonfiction November this month – it’s been a blast meeting new people and bonding over such a wide variety of books! I’m looking forward to reading more non-fiction throughout the next year and expanding my literary horizons.

What new non-fiction books have you added to your TBR list?

4 thoughts on “Nonfiction November: New To My TBR

Leave a Reply

