Weekly Paper (7)

newsb

Is anyone else still suffering from food comas and food babies? I know I am!

Sophiesphere /My posts for the week.

  1. I thought about why the books I read for high school English classes were all fiction, and the integration of non-fiction into schools.
  2. I reviewed Blood Red Road by Moira Young and it was pretty awesome. And Lesley and I decided that Saba wears an invisible helmet – how cool is that?
  3. Wrapping up Nonfiction November with new non-fiction books on my TBR list. My TBR list is still out of control...

Blogosphere /Posts that caught my eye in the book blogging world.

  1. Ellie @ Book Revels wondered why everyone is reading the same thing.
  2. The Well Read Fish shared slam poet Mark Grist’s awesome poem, “Girls Who Read”.
  3. Joséphine @ Dudette Reads commented on the hygiene of library books as a continuation of that cocaine-herpes-library-books news that came out a few weeks ago.
  4. Joséphine’s thought-provoking review of Cat Patrick’s “The Originals” is also making me indecisive about what to read for the A BOOK WITH CLONES box on my Sci-Fi Bingo board... choices, choices.
  5. Ana and Thea @ The Book Smugglers talked about Ellen Raskin’s “The Westing Game” (an old favorite of mine) for Old School Wednesday.
  6. Liza @ Reading with ABC asked if reviewing has made you a better writer.

Papersphere /The catch-all for all other paper or book-related news I found interesting.

  1. Westley is writing a memoir! Well, fine, Cary Elwes is writing about his role in “The Princess Bride”, but same thing.
  2. Research by UK group Voxburner showed that teens and young adults prefer physical books as opposed to digital copies.
  3. Grammarly made a neat infographic about pumpkin pie recipes. Yum!
  4. Notice how people don’t use periods anymore? Apparently the period is too angry and aggressive. Kind of like girl periods? Ha.
  5. A linguistic take on the Internet phrase, “I can’t even”, as well as the newly emerging Internet-speak culture.

How was your week? Did you find anything interesting in your self/blog/paperspheres that you want to share? Let me know!

5 thoughts on “Weekly Paper (7)

Leave a Reply

