Weekly Paper (8)

newsb

Two more weeks until I get to go home!!! Grad school is tiring; I come back at the end of the day and I just want to sleep. I study at school, I study on the bus home, I study during dinner, and on good days, I study for a bit after dinner before I start nodding off. On really good days, I get some non-school-related reading in before I nod off. I WANT MY LIFE BACK. /rant BUT I actually have more to share from all three “-spheres” this week, so maybe I’m not studying as much as I should I guess I’m quite productive. (Har har.)

Sophiesphere / My posts for the week.

  1. I recapped my November reads, thoughts, and challenge progress.
  2. I wasn’t too impressed with Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder by Joanne Fluke, even though the recipes sounded amazing.
  3. Feed by Mira Grant made me cry.
  4. ... and I obviously had to follow that with mini reviews of novellas Countdown and Fed by Mira Grant.
  5. My last reading challenge of the year is Winter Wonderland bingo! Go recommend me some books!

Blogosphere / Posts that caught my eye in the book blogging world. NOW IN ALPHABETICAL ORDER just because.

  1. Ashley @ Nose Graze set up a super-awesome book blogging community that looks AMAZING!
  2. Cait @ Notebook Sisters worried over books being too predictable.
  3. Charlotte @ Gypsy Reviews talked about overhyped books.
  4. Christina @ Christina Reads YA sorted popular book characters by MBTI.
  5. Jen @ Pop! Goes the Reader showcased her favorite holiday book covers.
  6. Leah @ Books Speak Volumes made a holiday gift guide for bookworms.
  7. Sherry @ Semicolon shared related posts about three famous authors who were all born on November 29th.

Papersphere / The catch-all for all other paper or book-related news I found interesting.

  1. A scientific analysis on what kids want to read over at Book Riot.
  2. An English professor ponders the use of all caps. SO TRUE.
  3. Do readers experience similar patterns of emotions as writers do while reading/writing a book? That’s what writer Arnon Grunburg wants to find out, so he’s got all these electrodes attached to his head while he writes his next book.
  4. In memory of Nelson Mandela, a compilation of free excerpts from his books.
  5. Manil Suri’s The City of Devi has been given the 2013 Bad Sex in Fiction Award. Warning: facepalm-worthy analogy of stars and the universe ahead.
  6. Pop-up books I wish I had as a kid.
  7. Samuel R. Delany has been named the 2013 Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America.

How was your week? Did you find anything interesting in your self/blog/paperspheres that you want to share? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

