Weekly Paper (12)

newsb

I knew my weekend was going to be wonderful when I heard chirps outside my window and found tiny bird tracks in the snow on my windowsill on Friday morning. Well, that and the fact that school was cancelled for the day due to weather (and more importantly, people in my lab also stayed home for once!) and the blue sky and gentle breeze just made me want to play RHCP’s The Zephyr Song and Corinne Bailey Rae’s Put Your Records On on repeat (which I did). What a great start to 2014! I’ve also enjoyed reading a lot of new year’s posts and wrap-up entries, and I’ve already finished a book in the new year, so I know this will be a productive year for me book-wise.

Sophiesphere / My posts for the week.

  1. I thought The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley was a nice mystery read with a unique protagonist.
  2. I signed up for Reread January but no progress yet, gulp...
  3. I barely remembered December but wrote a post on it, what??
  4. It was a new year, and I summed up my three months’ worth of blog stats plus made new year’s resolutions.
  5. I was completely blown away by how good Toms River by Dan Fagin was – best “environmental thriller” I’ve read! Oh, and Dan Fagin retweeted my review, no big deal. (OMGOMGOMG!)
  6. I ranted about how my methods of choosing books have changed throughout the years.

Blogosphere / Posts that caught my eye in the book blogging world.

  1. Asti @ A Bookish Heart discussed the fears of starting a blog and how to conquer those fears.
  2. Betty @ Book Rock Betty shared 30 hilarious search engine terms from her blog in 2013.
  3. Bookmammal finally opened a Goodreads account and wanted to know if and how you’re using Goodreads.
  4. Cait @ Notebook Sisters talked about 10 annoying things in YA books that she doesn’t ever want to read about again.
  5. Kim @ Sophisticated Dorkiness came up with specific ways of reducing her TBR pile in 2014.
  6. Sherry @ Semicolon listed the 12 best adult fiction books she read in 2013.
  7. The Five-Eyed Bookworm has only completed one book series EVER, and decided to tackle several book series in the new year.

Papersphere / The catch-all for all other paper or book-related news I found interesting.

  1. A look back at sci-fi writer Isaac Asimov’s predictions about 2014 in 1964. We can’t live up to such high expectations, Professor Asimov!
  2. If you’re still in that post-holidays hangover mode, here’s a neat Sudoku sans numbers holiday puzzle for you!
  3. Publishers Weekly’s top 10 library news of 2013.
  4. Sherlock Holmes is no longer covered by U.S. copyright law.
  5. Two accounts of how e-books are changing our reading experience.

How was your week? Did you find anything interesting in your spheres that you want to share? Let me know!

6 thoughts on “Weekly Paper (12)

  1. The moment when an author thanks you for reviewing their book is one of the most exciting moments for a book reviewer ever. Seriously, it has happened to me two times, and I’m still smiling because of it. And those bird tracks sound so cute ^_^ It reminds me of a baby bird my brother and I tried to save after we found it on the ground during winter… It didn’t survive, sadly, due to some really depressing reasons, but the memories of the few days we had it make me feel happy.

    Wow…. I’m getting off track. MOVING ON!

    I’m having trouble deciding if Sherlock Holmes not being copyrighted anymore is a good or bad thing. It’s sort of nice that people who love the character can make more stories about him without fear, but it makes me wonder how the creator of the stories would want it… I’m not informed on the guy’s wishes, but I really hope that people aren’t taking advantage of him and his now-not-copyrighted story.

    The article on e-reading was really interesting, though I can’t say I fully agree with it. It’s true that e-reading allows for distraction, since an e-reader is so connected to the Internet, but I do not find much difference in the experiences of e-reading and p-reading. When I’m reading a physical book, I get just as easily distracted as I do when I’m reading an e-book. This is all very subjective, I think that physical books and e-books are equal in their values and usefulness… Each one has their weaknesses and each one has their strengths.

    Great post!

    • Ahhh yes, and then you have to try to act normal when you’re imploding with excitement? I still can’t believe it haha.

      Coincidentally, when I was 10, my friends and I found a baby bird too; it also didn’t survive. 😦 It makes me appreciate life so much more when things like this happen.

      In terms of the Sherlock copyright news, I’d think if Sir Arthur Conan Doyle were still alive today, he’d be against it. Imagine if this happened to Harry Potter! But then what would happen to fanfiction and other inspired work, like the BBC series and Elementary? It’s definitely a touchy subject for some people.

      I agree with you on the e-reading bit, since I also don’t find much of a difference in e-reading and physical books. I find a difference more so in how much I enjoy a book; for example, if I don’t like a book that much, I’m more easily distracted regardless of HOW I’m reading it.

  2. Haha! Guilty as charged! 😉 I have to work on that this year. I’m having a late start with my reading challenges (yikes). I have to finish reading The Good Lord Bird first 😉

    • Ahaha, sorry for throwing you into the spotlight! I STILL CAN’T BELIEVE IT. But it’s okay, it’s more important to enjoy what you’re reading than rushing for the sake of finishing challenges. Good luck!

    • Good luck! I usually read the first book of a series and stop there, so I doubt I’ll be finishing a series anytime soon haha. The Magicians has been on my to-read list for a while now, and I hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

