Mini Review: Pretties by Scott Westerfeld

Pretties 

Title: Pretties
Author: Scott Westerfeld
Series: Uglies #2
Publication Date: November 1, 2005
Category: (Young Adult) Dystopia

 

Pretties failed to make me bubbly. I immediately picked up Pretties right after reading Uglies because I couldn’t handle the suspense, but Pretties didn’t captivate me as much as Uglies did. Maybe I’m losing steam? I felt like the protagonist and the storyline took a completely different turn from the first book, and I didn’t feel as attached to the characters as I did before. But that didn’t stop me from picking up Specials right after finishing Pretties! Westerfeld started and ended this second installment of the series with a bang, and what keeps me reading is the plot; in Pretties, Tally discovers more secrets that her government is hiding from the citizens, and the plot thickens. I just want to know what happens next!

Leave a Reply

