(New Feature!) Spoons: Fortune Cookie Edition

Inspired by one of my favorite card games as well as my penchant for patterns, Spoons is where I seek out four-of-a-kinds in otherwise very different books; they may have, for example, characters with the same name, covers featuring the same object, stories about the same place, or brief mentions of jars of peanut butter.

spoons

I’m starting off my first feature with a food-related four-of-a-kind (something that will probably show up a lot)! And nothing says TGIF like a game of Spoons – today’s four all have one big fortune cookie on the cover.

Sweet Misfortune The Good Luck of Right Now Fortune Cookie Principle Miss Fortune Cookie

  1. Sweet Misfortune by Kevin Alan Milne (Adult Fiction) / Pessimistic chocolate shop owner Sophie sells fortune cookies dipped in bitter chocolate with handwritten, unlucky messages inside… which somehow become very popular. The ex-fiancée waltzes back into her life one day and wants to get back together to make her happy again.
  2. The Good Luck of Right Now by Matthew Quick (Adult Fiction) / After Bartholomew Neil’s mother passes away, the grief-stricken thirty-eight-year-old tries to start his life anew by writing a series of letters to actor Richard Gere, going on a road trip to Canada (I approve), and befriending some pretty interesting characters.
  3. The Fortune Cookie Principle by Bernadette Jiwa (Non-Fiction) / A guide on how to create a great brand story that will stand out and make a lot of money. Obviously the fortune cookie is an awesome example of this. Go fortune cookies!
  4. Miss Fortune Cookie by Lauren Bjorkman (Young Adult) / The girl behind a popular advice blog makes a mess of her life when she gives advice to her ex-best friend.

spoonsendc

Do you know of any other books that would fit in this category? Let me know!

10 thoughts on “(New Feature!) Spoons: Fortune Cookie Edition

    • I’m glad you like it, She! 😀 I’m really excited about Spoons too! The Good Luck of Right Now actually inspired this week’s theme, haha. Have a nice weekend!

  1. I love this new feature too, as well as fortune cookies! 🙂 I kinda want to read The Good Luck of Right Now because I LOVED Boy21, but I’m not sure it would be a book for me…. I have watched the movie The Silver Linings Playbook but wasn’t that impressed….
    Sweet Misfortune sounds like a fun chick-lit 😀 And Miss Fortune Cookie sounds cute&fun too. Great picks!

    • Thanks so much, Cayce! :DD Boy21 looks like a really serious/deep book! I haven’t watched The Silver Linings Playbook, and The Good Luck of Right Now sounds interesting but doesn’t have the same appeal as the chick-lits do, haha. But hopefully Spoons will be a way to get exposure to a more diverse collection of books. 🙂

    • Haha, thanks! This one feels kind of like Friday Finds in a way, so I’m trying to go through books I’ve already read and see if they have obscure things in common with each other. More fun to come!

  2. What a brilliantly fun idea! Plus, you’ve just reminded me of how much I love playing Spoons… may have to work that in some time this week! 😀

    • Thanks, Sarah! I love being able to fuse two of my favorite pastimes – card games and books. 😛 This feature is definitely making me want to play the actual card game though, haha.

Leave a Reply

