Mini Reviews: Specials & Extras by Scott Westerfeld

I’m browsing through Westerfeld’s other works for more books to read, and I didn’t realize he’s written so many books! And now I realize why his world-building is so awesome – he’s already written the complete history of this world, although I probably won’t read this because I’m not that in love with the series. But I am excited to read what other authors think about the Uglies series in Mind-Rain, since so much went well and not-well in these four books.

Other Westerfeld’s books that I’m interested in reading are Stupid Perfect World, So Yesterday, and the Midnighters series. His ideas are always so fabulous, and I’m just hoping that the execution meets my expectations, haha.

Specials
 

Title: Specials
Author: Scott Westerfeld
Series: Uglies #3
Publication Date: May 9, 2006
Category: (Young Adult) Dystopia

 
Specials made up for the disconnectedness I felt from Pretties. Instead of “bubbly”, the new favorite feeling is “icy” – the thrill and clarity that Tally gets from being something more than an ugly or a pretty is exciting. This book ties back to the conspiracy that started in the first book in the series, Uglies, really nicely, and packs quite a punch with lots of action and some big revelations. I still feel iffy about the romance in this one, and some of the characters who I liked in the first book are still kept in the background in Pretties. But overall, I enjoyed how Pretties resolves most of the conflicts in the previous books in the series. If this was made into a movie, I’d definitely watch it. (Come on, John Davis, get it together!)

Extras
 

Title: Extras
Author: Scott Westerfeld
Series: Uglies #4
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: October 2, 2007
Category: (Young Adult) Dystopia

 
This last installment of Westerfeld’s Uglies series flopped for me. I like the language and cultural changes arising from Japanese influences, and the new reputation system in this society is interesting and differs greatly from Tally Youngblood’s society in previous books. This society is probably what would happen in real life a century into the future if Facebook continues to grow and eventually takes over the world: everyone has live feeds, and the more times your name is mentioned, the more stuff and more money you get. The one major thing that I didn’t like about this book was the protagonist, Aya Fuse. Tally kind of annoys me. Aya makes me want to punch her really hard. Westerfeld seems to like having protagonists who lie and feel guilty but keep on lying, but Aya is just too much for me. And The Boy was also very, very unnecessary. So a somewhat meh ending – I think this series might have been better if it just ended as a trilogy.

5 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Specials & Extras by Scott Westerfeld

  1. I liked the world in Extras too ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t realize Westerfeld had written so many other books either! The series of essays about these books sound fun. For some reason, books about other books really appeal to me, sometimes even if I haven’t read the books they’re about!

  2. Gah, every time you’ve reviewed one of these books I’ve dithered about whether or not to add it to my list, but I think I’m going to throw the series on there (not like I have anything else to read, right??) It does sound intriguing, but in the meantime, maybe you’ll find another of Westerfeld’s books you like better?? Keep me posted!!

    • Ahaha, our ever-growing TBR lists are going to be impossible to go through. But yes, I’ll let you know if I find any other Westerfeld books that I like more! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

