Picky Reader vs. Picky Eater: Books (and Food) That Intimidate Me (1)

Picky Reader vs. Picky Eater

One of my greatest assets as a human being is my willingness to eat anything. I’d like to think that if there’s a global food shortage, I’d be one of the “fit” people in the survival-of-the-fittest game (even though I wouldn’t be fit by any other definition, har har). Similarly, I believe that one of my greatest assets as a reader is my willingness to read anything. But if I really think about it, I think I’m more picky about what I read – and so the battle between Picky Eater and Picky Reader is born! The book or the food – which one intimidates you more? Let’s get ready to rrrrrumble!

PRPE Round 1

FIFTY SHADES RAW OYSTERS
This book sends shivers down my spine; I’m scared of hating it, and I’m scared of liking it. The reviews for “Fifty Shades of Grey” and the plot itself have ruined this book for me… I don’t want to be scarred for life! I love seafood, but the only time I’ve had raw oysters it tasted rubbery and way too raw. Totally fine with other raw stuff, but maybe I just haven’t had good raw oysters?
Verdict: I will force fifty raw oysters down my throat before I pick up Fifty Shades of Grey.
28 thoughts on “Picky Reader vs. Picky Eater: Books (and Food) That Intimidate Me (1)

  1. Oh dear, I think overall I’m a pickier reader than eater, but I just don’t do raw seafood (although I think I would get less picky during the apocalypse??) I suppose being a not-picky reader isn’t really a brilliant survival skill (unless you’re in the dentist office waiting room)…

    • For me, raw seafood was definitely an acquired taste. I have lots of things that I didn’t like but forced myself to eat, and then eventually I grew to like them… so more potentially hated foods coming up in the next few weeks, haha.

      And LOL, being a not-picky reader is useful in other cases too! No awkward eye contact on public transportation, for one. Eavesdropping without anyone noticing, for another. 😛

      • True, true, I’m never bored because I’m willing to read basically anything. I found myself quite engrossed in a magazine article about a new museum they’re opening on Lake Erie when I was at the dentist the other day. Doesn’t take much to keep me entertained. 😀

  2. Oh boy, such a difficult decision.

    I’ve never had any raw seafood, so I’ve no idea whether or not I would like raw oysters or not, and I know from what I’ve heard about 50 Shades of Grey that I would not like it…. Hmm….

    I guess I’d read 50 Shades in the hopes of some lols like a friend of mine did, but I’m not 100% sure.

  3. What a great idea for a post!!!!
    Well, I’ve never eaten oysters, but I did read the first 50 Shades book. . . I think I’d probably be more likely to try the oysters than to read the other two books! Nope, not a fan of the Grey. 🙂

  4. Umm… yeah.. I think I’ll have to pass on both. I have tried raw oysters once and also read parts of Fifty Shades of Grey (thanks, friends and reviews!) but those little “tastes” were enough to know that they are not for me 😉
    Great new feature!

    • Thanks Cayce! And good choice – I always think that food has the potential to get better (maybe if you add ketchup on the raw oysters? Hmm…), but that might not be the case. :/

  5. I LOVE this feature, so so fun! I also am not a picky eater at all but some types of seafood I am not able to eat. And not physically because I dislike the taste, like every time I try it I get sick. Mussels, Oysters and these types of seafood are unfortunately in this category. SO despite how much I despite 50 Shades of Grey (I made it to page 16…) I would have to choose that, bleh. Terrible decision haha.

    • I’m glad you like it, Lauren!! Aww, it’s too bad that you can’t eat those types of seafood. But anyone who made it past the cover and actually opened the book is a hero in my heart, so I respect your decision! 😀

  6. Haha Sophie, what a great feature idea! 😀

    I’m not actually sure which I’d do… I don’t know if I’ve ever had oysters before, but I do like seafood (especially mussels and prawns) so I feel I would be okay with them… it’s just the raw bit that makes me shudder.

    But then again, so does 50 Shades. I don’t care if it makes me a snob, I don’t ever want to read that book. Oysters win!

    • Thanks so much, Rinn! And yes, it’s definitely a difficult decision. One of the things about raw oysters that gets to me is that it looks “dirty” – I never know if that brown/grey stuff is dirt or oyster, haha. 😕 But go Team Oysters!

  7. HAHAHA! This made me laugh to myself. I love this idea of a feature and I hope you’ll keep this up!

    I almost picked raw oysters since I love sashimi, so taste-wise I should be alright. But then I thought about the health risks and remembered this feed poisoning episode that hit the local news a couple of years ago, sooooo I would pick neither.

  8. Er, reading Fifty Shades of Grey can’t possibly kill me, so I’m going with reading Fifty Shades over scarfing down raw oysters. I may get mentally scarred in the process, but at least I won’t be dead! Hopefully, though, I won’t ever have to actually make this decision. Now, I have a question for you: A book that was made perfectly for you (like, so perfect that it blows your mind and gives you a piece of heaven) vs. A trillion barrels full of five dollar bills.

    • But but what if Fifty Shades gives you a heart attack??! Or if you bleed to death from a paper cut or if you get some weird disease from a library copy? (Well, that can probably (not) happen with any book, haha…)

      Hmm, seeing as how I just Googled how many dollar bills fit into a barrel, I’m going to choose the money so that I can buy a gazillion copies of that perfect book and have enough to spare to buy ALL THE BOOKS IN THE WORLD. 😛 (Assuming 55-gallon barrels, I’d have 915 billion dollars to burn. I have Breaking Bad fans to thank for the math.)

      • I just watched an episode of the show Naked and Afraid, so now I am thinking that there should be some kind of book-reading survival show. One has to read the worst, paper cut-ery, disease-covered books in the world in order to win. And to throw in the whole Naked and Afraid theme, one has to read the books naked. It will be more intense than mere surviving naked in the wild (pffft! Such an easy thing), and I’D TOTALLY WIN!

        … If I were to, you know, be okay with being naked… Which I’m not… So. Uh. The prize will go to somebody else.

        I think I’d pick the barrels full of money, too. And how did Breaking Bad fans help you? Do they serve you? (By the way, what’s your opinion of the show? I’ve heard that it is very suspenseful and the cause of many chewed-up fingernails.

        • Ah, another survival show that I need to watch! Well, the prize will most definitely not go to me either… naked books is one thing, and being naked is a completely different horror! :S

          Breaking Bad fans helped me indirectly as I was Googling that question, haha. I haven’t actually watched the show (my to-watch list might be almost as long as my to-read list, haha), but I’ve heard that it was good, whatever “good” means. I’m just terrified of suspenseful/scary shows and movies – I always have to grab a friend or a pillow to hide behind when I watch them!

          • Haha, Naked and Afraid is an interesting survival show. I like seeing how people team up together to achieve something. Though sometimes I don’t see that and it is just lots of bickering. And talking to rocks…

            I once watched a YouTube video that discussed whether people actually enjoyed the show or just really hated not knowing what happens next due to the high-intensity and suspense and whatever, which was interesting… So even if you don’t like the show, you might still find yourself addicted 😀

Leave a Reply

