Book Tag: My Reading Habits

I got tagged for the Reading Habits Tag (thanks Christine!), so this is where I confess my not-so-weird reading habits and get you to do the same!

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?20131027b

Any place with a couch or a bed (with anything fluffy like fluffy socks or fluffy pillow as an added bonus). I’m not too picky! It just makes it that much easier for me to transition from reading time to nap time, haha.

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I used to collect bookmarks, but they got buried under a lot of other stuff in the house and I don’t really remember where my bookmark bag went. :/ So I’ve been using random pieces of paper, and these days, I’m particularly fond of using my amino acid flashcards. #NERDALERT

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter or certain amount of pages?

Yup, I can just stop reading! I blame my somewhat short attention span, eep. For some of my favorite books (Tamora Pierce!) I can also just start reading from any page and be perfectly content.

4. Do you eat or drink whilst reading?20131110b

Yes, if I get hungry or thirsty. I like drinking milk or tea when I read, and sometimes it gets messy when I start snacking, so I’ve perfected the one-hand page-turn. (Don’t shift your eyes, I know you know exactly what I mean by the one-hand page-turn!)

5. Do you watch TV or listen to music whilst reading?

No, I prefer to read in silence. I can read fine with background noise though, like on a bus or in the coffee shop.

6. One book at a time or several at once?

Oh boy, several-to-the-infinity at once. I usually finish SF/F books in one go, but some books are harder for me to get through than others, so I like to keep it fresh by switching between books. So I essentially don’t DNF – I just take breaks. 😛

7. Reading at home or everywhere?

I agree with Christine on this one: EVERYWHERE!!! Erm except possibly not when I’m working out (which doesn’t happen very happen, so yeah EVERYWHERE).

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?

I usually read silently in my head, but I occasionally force myself to read out loud – otherwise, I can go days without speaking if I’m not at school! I also read faster in my head, so I get impatient when I read out loud… which is part of the reason why I’m not a huge fan of audiobooks.

9. Do you ever read ahead or skip pages?

Sometimes, when I get super bored of a book. Then my eyes glaze over and I start skimming like mad.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

Both! Breaking the spine for paperbacks and keeping it like new for hardcovers. I don’t even know why.

11. Do you write in your books?

No. I even shy away from “ruining” books that are meant to be written in, like the ones with fill-in-the-blanks and draw-your-life’s.

bird

Phew, that’s it! And this is probably not how you’re supposed to tag people but TAG, YOU’RE IT! Just pretend I’m an Interweb octopus and can tag all of you at once, because I really am curious about what everyone’s reading habits are like. Feel free to leave a link or comment with your own not-so-weird habits and I’ll check it out!

What are some of YOUR reading habits?

7 thoughts on “Book Tag: My Reading Habits

  1. Reading your answers I realized I missed out on elaborating a few of my habits!

    “It just makes it that much easier for me to transition from reading time to nap time, haha.”
    Yep, totally do this too XD

    “I’ve perfected the one-hand page-turn.”
    Even though I don’t snack while reading, I totally do the one-hand page-turn. Don’t need to, but I do. *laughs*

    “So I essentially don’t DNF – I just take breaks. :P”
    YES! Same here!

    “I get impatient when I read out loud… which is part of the reason why I’m not a huge fan of audiobooks.”
    Yep. Most of the audiobooks I listen to are books I’ve already read and am really familiar with (ie Harry Potter and Percy Jackson).

    “No. I even shy away from “ruining” books that are meant to be written in, like the ones with fill-in-the-blanks and draw-your-life’s.”
    OHMYGOD ME TOO! This is why I will never ever get Wreck this Journal. I just… I can’t!

    • Omg Wreck This Journal is a completely foreign concept to me. People do WHAT to books? 😮

      Not sure if you do this too, but even starting a journal is a big deal to me. I always need to pick out the perfect pen or pencil, figure out if I need to write in cursive or print, use all caps for the title of each entry or not, etc. etc. etc. loads of stress haha.

      • Yeah, the idea of Wreck This Journal kind of makes me want to cry!

        YES, that is me too! I think that’s why I was never very good at keeping a physical journal *laughs* Thankfully I’m a little better when I hand write my stories…

  2. Great answers!
    I can also start and stop reading at any point (if you tend to read at long traffic lights, that is a skill that simply must be mastered!) and I’m pretty much always reading more than one book at a time. Right now I’ve got three going–1 nonfiction, 1 novel, and 1 audiobook novel.

  3. Hahaha, your answers are hilarious! When I work out…which is never! I agree with most of your answers, except bending the spine on paperbacks makes me cringe. I let my boyfriend borrow my paperback copy of The Maze Runner, because I just loved it THAT MUCH, but first have to give him the “talk” and tell him the rules of handing a book GENTLY…boys.

    Lisa
    http://www.turningpages94.blogspot.com!

    • Thanks, Lisa! I have to admit that me bending the spine is completely different than some other person bending the spine (at least in my mind)… me doing it? Acceptable. Other people doing the same thing to my book? DIE. 😡

Leave a Reply

