Spoons (3): Bad Luck Edition

Inspired by one of my favorite card games as well as my penchant for patterns, Spoons is where I seek out four books that have something in common, whether it be characters with the same name, covers featuring the same object, stories about the same place, or brief mentions of jars of peanut butter in each book.

spoons

Happy Friday the 13th! I’ve had some pretty bad luck on my previous Friday-the-13th’s, but today I got home just before a thunderstorm started, so I think I’m actually pretty lucky today! (Unless my computer suddenly crashes because the storm affected the wiring in the house somehow and zaps my computer… is that even possible? Merp.) And did you know that someone with a fear for Friday the 13th has friggatriskaidekaphobia? Here’s how it’s pronounced, but I don’t think I can make my mouth do that. #thatswhatshesaid #awkwardfridays

Ah, but more importantly, here are four books related to bad luck and superstitions!

 The Bad Beginning The Last Black Cat Jinx What the Moon Said

  1. The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket (Middle Grade) / This is “an unhappy tale about three very unlucky children” who have the worst luck in the world. Everyday is Friday the 13th for the Baudelaire siblings.
  2. The Last Black Cat by Eugene Trivizas (Middle Grade) / When black cats start disappearing, and the other street cats start to notice…
  3. Jinx by Jennifer Estep (Adult Fiction) / A girl with a weird superpower – what can you do with static electricity you can’t control? Oh, and don’t forget the super-hot ubervillain!
  4. What the Moon Said by Gayle Rosengren (Middle Grade) / “If believing a superstition makes you miserable, how can that be good luck?” Set during the Great Depression, this is a story about family and friendship (and probably a lot of luck!).

spoonsendc

Do you believe in superstitions? Do you know of any other books that might fit in with these four?

7 thoughts on “Spoons (3): Bad Luck Edition

  1. Hehe, maybe this year’s Friday the 13th is finally the turning point for all the bad luck you’ve had on all the previous ones! All the same, crossing my fingers that your house wiring won’t short circuit from the storm. 😉 I don’t know why, but I’ve always had a strange fascination for the number 13, probably because many people see it as unlucky and I don’t. Anyway, love the idea for this feature! I really like the game Spoons as well, though I don’t often get the chance to play it, which is sad.

    I really need to read one of Lemony Snicket’s books soon. I’ve watched the film for A Series of Unfortunate Events and remember enjoying it quite a bit, so no reason why I shouldn’t read the books, too. And lol, for some reason the cover for Jinx reminds me of a cross between The Wizard of Oz and Sabrina the Teenage Witch… as an adult. Must be the green?! Haha.

    To answer you question: no, I’m not the superstitious kind of person. I mean, I suppose they’re cool and all that, but I don’t believe that they’re actually true. I do love scaring myself with horror films and games, though! 😛

    • Same, I feel pretty okay with the number 13. I do seem to have more trouble with the number 11 though, for some reason… that 11:11:11 thing that people like to make wishes at? THAT freaks me out. And and if they ever make a virtual version of Spoons, I’ll play with you! 😛

      I actually haven’t seen the film version of A Series of Unfortunate Events, but I’d love to sometime! I always imagine it as Beetlejuice or The Addams Family-esque.

      I’m not that supertitious either, but horror films scare me (and I do not love it at all, haha). >_<

  2. WHAT THE MOON SAID by Gayle Rosengren may be about the Depression (the 1930’s one, not the one since 2008!), but it reading it will raise your spirits and fill your heart with positives (not much else will these days). The main character, 10-almost-11 year old Esther is vibrant, totally lovable (well, most of the time), and a magnet for interesting adventures & interesting thought-processes!! Just a delight to read something so marvelously written and with such a BIG, BIG HEART! Yes, the superstitions MAY portend bad things (or good things), but the book is about life and one amazing young girl’s devotion to making the best out of difficult situations and finding solutions to her most difficult problems (external & internal). Just a marvelous and life-affirming book for its target audience, Middle Grade readers age 8 to 12, and for readers of any age. I’ve read it twice and loved it twice!

    • Thanks, Rinn! I love being able to find similarities between books I’ve already read, but this feature also makes it easier for me to find random new books. 😛

Leave a Reply

