Weekly Paper (33)

newsWhat do you know, I’m still kind of productive! But this week was a horrible week for me – it was like Alexander’s terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day, but spread out over the span of DAYS. I messed up two experiments in lab and had some unexpected family issues, and I was just emotionally stressed out. But Friday worked its magic and I feel happy and ready for life again!

PB NEWS

LOCAL NEWS

WORLD NEWS

Do you have any interesting news that you want to share? Let me know!

11 thoughts on “Weekly Paper (33)

  1. I’m still not sold on ANY of The Giver trailers! I mean yes, the last two were way better than the first one…but you’re absolutely right! It doesn’t seem like the same story at all! I mean I’m all for some more Meryl Streep, but….what?! I’m angry. I was so excited for this, but I can already tell I won’t like it. It’s one of those books that I reread all the time growing up, and I’d want it to be a faithful adaption, not an interpretation. And I feel very strongly about it haha. So I’m counting myself out for this movie, unless I see reviews of it saying how awesome it is. (But I would be surprised if that happened). Are you planning on seeing it?

    • Hmm, I’m probably not going to watch the movie either. If they had just made this a completely separate movie and changed the name to something that’s not The Giver, I might be more excited about it, haha. But I feel the same way you do about having a more “faithful” adaptation. :/

  2. Thanks for mentioning my post, Sophie! 😀 But aw, I’m sorry you had such an awful week. I know what it feels like to be emotionally stressed out, so sending you lots of virtual hugs and cookies. Hopefully this week will be MUCH better. And I’ll be sure to check out the rest of the links you shared — I always love weekly round-up posts like these because I get to discover new blogs and read new posts… though my schedule really doesn’t allow it much, lol.

    Don’t have much interesting news, except that I’m starting to get more productive in terms of blogging too, yay! It feels so satisfying. :3 Have a great week, girl!

    • You’re welcome! And thanks for the virtual hugs and cookies, onomnom heehee. 🙂 Great to see you back and blogging again! I feel like my blogging productivity (and productivity in general) decreases a lot during the summer – probably because it’s hot and I don’t want to move or do anything ugh. :S But hope you’re having a great week too!

  3. Thanks for sharing some of the discussions I’ve found 🙂 I was really excited about the Lee Gutkind course too! I think scientists are all taught how to communicate with other scientists, but are encouraged to use lingo which makes their writing very difficult for a non-scientists to follow. I think we could probably all benefit from a little practice writing for a popular audience.

    • You’re welcome, Katie! And yes, I agree with your thoughts on this, except for the first bit – I don’t even think scientists are taught how to communicate with other scientists! At least from what I’ve seen (both in college and in grad school), there’s almost no guidance in terms of paper- and grant-writing… so the students who don’t write well never improve. Writing for both types of audiences is important, and I’m frustrated by the lack of support and resources to teach students how to do so effectively. :/

  4. Thanks for sharing my post 🙂 I had NO idea about the ASU thing, which is quite sad considering I am a full time student there. Ah, well. People seem really disappointed about the Giver movie, I’ve never read the book so I can’t really say anything though. Hope it turns out okay!

    • You’re welcome, Alise! Ahhh, maybe you’ll recognize some of the people participating in that Gutkind project? 😛 Yup, I feel like we’ll always be somewhat disappointed by movies that have been adapted from books, but it’s the first time I’ve seen so much backlash from just the trailer releases! Meh.

    • I know, right? Somehow it doesn’t feel as dramatic or genuine to me though – I still prefer them being sworn in with real bibles, haha.

      And thanks for following, Finley Jayne! 🙂

Leave a Reply

