Summer Bookish Bingo

Happy Fourth of July, everyone! First of all, let’s just pretend I don’t have two other Bookish Bingos going on. Because Kara, Lyn, and Bekka over at Great Imaginations are hosting a summer edition of Bookish Bingo!!! I resisted their first spring Bookish Bingo, but now my self control has been completely depleted. At least there’s a time limit on this one (July through September), so maybe I can actually finish this thing and still progress on my other bingo boards? SO EXCITED!!!

September Edit: Urm… so I’m going to change the rules a little bit, since my summer didn’t go as planned. Instead of using books read in July through September, I’ll just use any new reviews from September onwards. Since I’ve been behind on review-writing, this is a good way to motivate myself!

20140704_SummerBingo

B1: a stand-alone (The Solitude of Prime Numbers by Paolo Giordano)
B2: starts with S, U, M, E, or R (Struck by Genius by Jason Padgett & Maureen Seaberg)
B3: a series finale (Forever by Maggie Stiefvater)
B4: blue cover (Running Like a Girl by Alexandra Heminsley)
B5: music or dance themes (Bellweather Rhapsody by Kate Racculia)

I1: sky on cover (The Eighty-Dollar Champion by Elizabeth Letts)
I2: a thriller (The Summons by John Grisham)
I3: a retelling (The Fire Rose by Mercedes Lackey)
I4: a summer release (The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen)
I5: road trip! (Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen)

N1: MC is LGBTIA (Every Day by David Levithan)
N2: set on a boat (Beauty Queens by Libba Bray)
N3: FREE! (The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein)
N4: strong sibling relationship (The Ex Games by Jennifer Echols)
N5: magical realism (My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins and others)

G1: set during summer (Page by Tamora Pierce)
G2: Asian MC (Glitches by Marissa Meyer)
G3: “storm,” “rain,” or “thunder” in title (Storm Glass by Maria V. Snyder)
G4: featuring an animal companion (The Cat Who Turned On and Off by Lilian Jackson Braun)
G5: set in Europe (Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth)

O1: pink cover (Never Have I Ever by Katie Heaney)
O2: a middle grade novel (Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce)
(O3: “July,” “August,” or “September” in title (The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente)) cheated and did “September” as a character name instead…
O4: set on an island (Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery)
O5: water on cover (First Test by Tamora Pierce)

Are you playing Summer Bookish Bingo? Let me know if you have any recommendations for the squares I haven’t filled up!

One thought on “Summer Bookish Bingo

Leave a Reply

