Back to the Books!

Hello world! I’m so sorry for dropping the ball on Paper Breathers last month… except for this past weekend when my parents came and fed me and took me on a boat ride, I’ve been living in the lab running experiments, reading papers, and starting to write my first paper and first fellowship application. I did get a little bit of book-reading done during incubation times, but other than that, I did nothing blog-worthy, haha. Some summers I read excessively, but this was not one of those summers!

However, I think I made up for my lack of book-reading with tons of book-boarding. I’m so proud of my August book finds, and OH LOOK there’s a boat! I was most excited about those crab cakes The Witch of Blackbird Pond, a childhood favorite; it’s lightly marred by some scribbles on the cover and a few pages inside, but look at that shiny cover! ❤ Old books are the best books.

20140904

As a second-year student this year, I might have less time to read and blog compared to last year. But I also won’t be super stressed, since my comps (or quals/prelims?) won’t be until next June and I’ll probably start freaking out in May. Also, it seems like the more homework and classwork I have, the more procrastination-prone I get, and so I may end up reading more… eep, we’ll see!

I’m looking forward to reading all your wonderful book blogs again, and I have more new and strange ideas I want to try out in this little bloggity space of mine. I’m just going to take it nice and easy though and focus on school first – just got my binders organized and my new planner color-coded, and I’m sooo ready to rock this year!

Are you excited for back-to-school/work season? Did you read anything awesome this summer?

7 thoughts on “Back to the Books!

  1. Hey, Sophie! I haven’t been around much either these last few months but I’m so glad to see you’re back!

    I also wanted to say I’m so, so sorry I never replied to your e-mail back in May but it really meant a lot to me, it’s just something that’s difficult to always put into words in an e-mail and then I kept putting it off until I forgot about it for weeks at a time. But that e-mail was one of the best and nicest ones I could have received that day ❤

    • Ahhh Christine!!! I can’t wait to read through your blog again! (Your new layout looks awesome!) 😀 And it’s totally okay – I understand how hard it is to write out some things, and I hope that it helped even a little with what you were going through.

      Looking forward to more bookish and non-bookish chats with you soon! 🙂

  2. Sophie!!! So glad you’re alive! I disappeared for several weeks over the summer (I own a house now?! Like an adult?! IT IS TERRIFYING!), but am trying to get back into the book blogging groove. Looking forward to hearing more from you!!

    • Wow, congrats Sarah! That is terrifying, but also very exciting at the same time because it marks another milestone in your life. 🙂 Glad I’m not the only one who took a blogging break haha. Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

