Review: Forever by Maggie Stiefvater

Forever

I shivered, I lingered, and now I’m heartbroken forever. sobs dramatically This series is so full of cheesy, heart-wrenching, movie-worthy moments that I’m just so overwhelmed be the feels. By the way, can this please be made into a movie? This review is inspired by the fact that I want Forever to be a movie, so get ready for the GIFs. (And also because anything I write will probably be a spoiler.)

Introduction

Sam and Grace are star-crossed lovers again, but this time, they also have to deal with the threat of a hunt that may eliminate all the wolves of Mercy Falls forever… (see what I did there?)

Discussion

Forever is the perfectly vague but decisive ending to Sam and Grace’s story that parallels the first book of the trilogy very well, so it’s like coming full circle. It also transitions nicely to another love story without making it seem unfinished when the book ended, so I’m always appreciative of the lack of cliffhangers or inconclusive endings. And everything’s so romantic and angsty! So many let’s-look-into-each-other’s-eyes like this:

And it was more than his eyes that haunted me. They were a doorway to other almost-memories, almost-images, almost-versions of myself that I couldn’t catch, more elusive prey than the fastest deer.

The loneliness that many of the characters felt was also very touching and realistic…

And one scene at the climax of the story actually brought tears to my eyes (not joking!)…

But there are also moments full of joy and satisfaction:

Conclusion

I can’t wait to read the next book! And the book after that! Stiefvater is incredibly skillful and creating memorable characters and sentimental scenes, and Forever is a wonderful ending (is it the end?) to a very addicting series.

5 thoughts on “Review: Forever by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Love the gifs! I know a lot of people feel like this series is too cheesy and filled with too much insta-love, but I really enjoyed when I read it back in middle school. Maybe I should read it again sometime. Have you read Sinner?

    • Thanks, Holly! 😀 I usually don’t like insta-love, but in this case it just works for some reason. And and I’ve been waiting to read Sinner since FOREVER! (Ahh so many puns haha) Have you read it? I hope it’s good!

Leave a Reply

