My Year in Nonfiction

cork-w-books-300x300I can’t believe it’s Nonfiction November again! I was looking back through my nonfiction posts from last year at this time – like when I talked about some of my favorite nonfiction reads, environmental/public health books I’d like to read, and new nonfiction books added to my to-be-read list from suggestions of other Nonfiction November readers – and to my dismay, I realized how little nonfiction I’ve read this year. I have, however, hoarded more nonfiction books this year than ever before… do I get some sort of extra credit for that?

This year, Nonfiction November will surely be extra fun due to 2X more co-hosts! Leslie (Lu) and Kim are back as co-hosts, with new co-hosts Rebecca and Katie joining in. This event reminds me to read more nonfiction, and I’ve discovered some amazing books, blogs, and bloggers from the last #nonficnov, so I can’t wait to do the same this year! I’m pretty sure it was because of this event that my nonfiction book list grew so much…

20141009

From the nonfiction books I read this year, I have three favorites to share with you! I usually like the nonfiction books I read, but it’s hard for me to get excited about them (omg, dΓ©jΓ  vu because I wrote this in my first #nonficnov post last year too…) and these three really made me go, “Wow, this is such an eye-opener / and I want to do something about this issue / and then eat bugs for dinner.” You ready? One-sentence summaries below, but click on the titles to read my reviews!

20141103_nonficnov
1. Edible: An Adventure into the World of Eating Insects and the Last Great Hope to Save the Planet by Daniella Martin. Bugs are friendly and delicious and we should all be making waxworm tacos for dinner so that the world doesn’t explode from cow poop.

2. Toms River: A Story of Science and Salvation by Dan Fagin. A revealing, outrage-inducing story about industrial waste and how it affects human health.

3. The Tastemakers: Why We’re Crazy for Cupcakes but Fed Up with Fondue by David Sax. Why we spend so much money at that cupcake bakery across the street and why we won’t in a few years (or sooner – did you hear about how Crumbs almost went bankrupt?).

Do you read nonfiction? If so, what are your favorite books this year?

31 thoughts on “My Year in Nonfiction

  1. Oooh, this is the first I’m hearing of The Tastemakers, but I love the sound of it! It kind of reminds me a little of Anything that Moves, but more focused just on the trends. Looking forward to seeing what else you’ll be sharing with us this month!

    • Let me know if you get a chance to read this one, Shannon! And kind of random, but the cover of Anything that Moves reminds me of that of The Man Who Ate Everything (which is also a great food book). Just added Anything that Moves to my to-read list because it sounds like a book I’ll enjoy. πŸ™‚

    • It was definitely a lot of fun to read! And I’m looking forward to your #nonficnov posts and round-ups again this year, Kim! November is now my favorite month partly because of this event, haha πŸ˜›

  2. The Tastemakers sounds great, I’m putting it on my TBR πŸ™‚ I can see how this event will make my wishlist crazy, it’s awesome!

    • Yay, I hope you enjoy it! And too true – when I participated in Nonfiction November last year, I added over 20 books to my to-read list! (It’s since been trimmed though, haha.)

  3. Mmm… Food nonfiction! Combine both and maybe have the answer to how long before we’re eating grasshopper cupcakes. πŸ˜‰ I’ve been seeing Tom Standage’s An Edible History of Humanity on a few lists; would probably make a good “trilogy.”

    • Grasshopper cupcakes sound… interesting. o_O And I’ve had An Edible History of Humanity on my to-read list for wayyy too long, haha. Food nonfiction is definitely a very popular genre nowadays.

    • Yay, I’m glad you loved it, Katie! πŸ˜€ (I remember reading your review, but I just realized that I never commented it, bah.) I still have a slew of environmental health non-fiction from last year’s list that I need to tackle, haha.

  4. I’ve wanted to read Tastemakers ever since I read about it on your blog! I just can’t seem to get to it, but I know I’ll enjoy it when I do! So many books, so little time . . . πŸ™‚

    • I hope you get to it eventually! With books, it’s always a race against time, unfortunately. I feel like our to-read lists just grow longer and longer each day… 😣

    • Oh no!!! I hope you’re satisfying your cupcake cravings elsewhere, Savvy! And random note: at one point in the book, Sax talks about the disappearance of fondue, and it brought back memories of me and my girlfriends in college making fondue during sleepovers and I was shocked into thinking, “How do people have fun nowadays?!” I’ve never thought too much about food trends before, but they’re really interesting!

    • That’s exactly how I felt after I read it, but I usually don’t prefer feeling that way after reading a book, haha. πŸ˜› I felt a sense of helplessness too, because it’s so hard to actually do something about environmental health compared to, say, your own health… but it did make me want to learn more about those issues. And have a great nonficnov to you too, Jennifer!

  5. I have a REALLY REALLY hard time with nonfiction, but I’m super interested in everything behind Edible. (Also did you know cricket flour is like CRAZY expensive?) I have a hard time if there’s not a narrative or if it gets too statisticy (which is dumb, because you know…facts.) They basically have to be dressed up in a super friendly way. (The way I have to dump a jar of red sauce on anything so the kids I nanny will eat something haha). So…how accessible do you think it is? I might pick it up if I think I have a shot!

    • I feel the same way, Elizabeth! I want nonfiction to be fun and easy to understand, and that’s one reason why I really enjoyed Edible. If you read the quotes I included in my review of the book, you’ll see that Daniella Martin is great at using analogies to explain difficult concepts, and she’s just a really entertaining writer overall. πŸ˜›

      And if you’re not ready to commit, you can check out her website (http://www.girlmeetsbug.com/, beware of photos of big scary bugs!) to get a feel of her writing style.

      (I just looked up the price of cricket flour and WOWZA. Can I just hire some kids to catch some crickets and make my own cricket flour?)

  6. Your blog is so pretty… I think I told you this last year too! Toms River sounds exactly like something I’d love to read (and be horrified by!). Thank you for joining us again this year!

    • Ahaha, I’m glad you like it, Lu! It’s a bit plain, but that’s what I’ve been in the mood for recently. Let me know if you get a chance to read Toms River! πŸ™‚

    • Woah, you were offered worms?! Were they alive or dead? (I can’t think of many people who’d eat live worms…) I’d probably eat them depending on how they’re cooked and how hungry I am, haha. Daniella Martin has a set of Youtube videos on bug recipes that you should look up too, but I think the book helps in that there weren’t too many visuals to be grossed out by. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

