Review: Sinner by Maggie Stiefvater

Sinner

I was heartbroken forever UNTIL THIS BOOK CAME OUT. MAGGIE STIEFVATER, WHY YOU GOTTA DO THIS TO ME. 😭 Okay okay, Sinner wasn’t as heart-wrenching as I expected it to be (even though it did make my heart ache several times, but you must know, I expected to die from brokenheartedness after reading this!). This book was edgy and gritty and full of sharp words and angsty feels, and something about damaged characters just pull me in, hook, line, and sinker.

Introduction

Cole and Isabel share a past that never seemed to have a future. They have the power to save each other and the power to tear each other apart. The only thing for certain is that they cannot let go.

Isabel Culpeper, jaded from the events that occurred in Mercy Falls, leaves Minnesota and moves to Los Angeles with her family. And Cole St. Clair, the dangerous/suave/beautiful/ruined former NARKOTIKA frontman, follows her to try to win her back also travels to L.A. to star in a reality TV show that has a reputation of bringing the worst out of celebrities – can Cole win this game of love before he falls into the temptations of his dark past again?

Discussion

Stiefvater creates the most addicting and engrossing characters and situations ever – I don’t know if I’m being masochistic or sadistic, but the pain hurts so good, you know what I mean? I was already very curious about Isabel and Cole’s stories when I read the trilogy, and I really like how different these two are in comparison to Grace and Sam. GraceSam are like the good and soft-spoken children in the classroom, while IsaCole are like the rebellious, spitball-shooting children. Every time Isabel rejects Cole, every time they get hurt emotionally, I’m just like, I WANT MOREEE! Unlike Grace and Sam, whose relationship had external forces pulling them apart, Isabel and Cole both have a lot of internal conflicts that make them (or, at least, one of them) unable to grasp the fact that they’re the OTP of the book. The cat-and-mouse game begins…

But it wasn’t Christina I heard at the front of the store.

Instead, a very familiar voice said, “No, no, I’m looking for something very particular. Oh, wait, I just saw it.”

I turned around.

Cole St. Clair smiled lazily at me.

… and I said to myself, LET THE GAMES BEGIN! (The games were not in Isabel’s favor.)

I love Isabel’s sarcastic and cynical personality, as well as the fact that Cole appreciates her sharp tongue and can match her stride for stride. Other than these two, there are also a few new characters – some likable and some not – who have really quirky personalities, and they amused me while I wasn’t distracted by IsaCole. But most of the time, it’s IsaCole.

Plot-wise, Sinner isn’t as driven as the original trilogy. It’s less paranormal and more romance, and I don’t mind that at all. I think of this as IsaCole fanfiction that stemmed from the trilogy, so unfortunately, I wasn’t able to stay as objective (HAH!) as I usually do. We learn more about Cole’s past and how he became to be who he is, as well as Isabel’s extended family and their problems, and have I mentioned the IsaCole??

Conclusion

If you enjoyed The Wolves of Mercy Falls, there’s a good chance that you’ll enjoy Sinner too. Just don’t expect too much paranormal!

4 thoughts on “Review: Sinner by Maggie Stiefvater

Leave a Reply

