Review: Sisters of Blood and Spirit by Kady Cross

Sisters of Blood and Spirit

Oh man oh man, this book got me so excited that I just finished it in the course of a few hours without taking any breaks. There are aspects about Sisters of Blood and Spirit that I didn’t like, but at the same time, I really enjoyed the main characters’ personalities, and the plot was fast-paced and left no room for me to think and over-analyze.

Title: Sisters of Blood and Spirit
Author: Kady Cross
Series: Sisters of Blood and Spirit #1
Publication Date: March 31, 2015
Genre: (Young Adult) Paranormal / Romance / Horror
Source: Publisher via Goodreads First Reads in exchange for an honest review.

Introduction

Lark Noble’s twin sister, Wrenleigh, is dead… but still traverses between both the living and the Shadow Lands. Lark, who made a suicide attempt to try to join her sister, unwillingly makes a connection with her savior, the gorgeous Mason Ryan… while Wren, who was blocked out by Lark when the latter landed in the psych ward after the suicide attempt, finds solace in Kevin McCrae, the only person other than Lark who could hear her. When Mace, Kevin, and their friends come to the Noble twins for help with the spirit of a sadistic serial killer who is out for their lives, Lark and Wren discover more than they cared to and get more questions than answers in the process – about romance, their powers, and their future.

Discussion

I have to admit that I didn’t fall in love with the other Kady Cross books that I’ve read – I got through a few of her Steampunk Chronicles books, and always liked the protagonist and the quickness of the plot more than the plot itself or the supporting characters. The same can be said for Sisters of Blood and Spirit; I really enjoyed reading about the Noble twins, who had different personalities and different ways of dealing with rough situations, but who were super supportive of each other and the people they love.

Lark is super badass and doesn’t really care about what other people think of her, and she can be very bitchy at times, but I was engrossed by her strength and confidence and the fact that she can call out pretentious and fake people. She often brings up the point that she feels like she should be the dead one, not Wren, because she’s the one who doesn’t want to socialize. Wren, on the other hand, craves getting attention (which is pretty difficult when you’re a ghost), and really wants to fit in and have friends. I enjoyed hearing the story from both of their perspectives through the alternating points-of-view, and I think the two complemented each other very well. I’m reminded of Elsa and Anna, both in terms of physical appearances and personalities!

And of course, since there are two heroines, there must be two Boys. What’s that, you say? Of course there’s a love triangle! The romance is worse than usual for me because now there are two relationships that I don’t want to read about – the progression of these romances are unexpected and too insta-love-y at times, and in the end they don’t get resolved. It got so bad that I cringed whenever Wren got all sappy – I felt better when Lark cringed with me though, haha. I think I would’ve enjoyed the story more if The Boys were just friends instead of love interests, but that’s just me and YA romance.

Stop that, Anna Wren!

The other characters are not as likable as the main characters (except for Lark and Wren’s grandma), and in the end, I’m glad that there are both Lark and Wren around, since I feel like a lot of the supporting characters ended up being unreliable and emotionally distant, and the sisterly bond allows the two to play the supporting role for each other.

Plot-wise, very typical fast-paced writing from Cross, and I like that there’s a specific purpose: everyone’s looking to get rid of an evil ghost. The action scenes were intense and very detailed, and I totally just gobbled it all up! The parts I didn’t like are the preparatory “hints” and foreshadowing about the Nobles and their special powers/status because random people and situations pop up without much context, but at least the evil ghost story gets wrapped up pretty neatly.

Conclusion

If you’re in the mood for a quick read, Sisters of Blood and Spirit is an action-packed paranormal read with a touch of horror and a lot of sisterhood (awesome) as well as some romance and foreshadowing (not so awesome). Also, a lot of sarcasm and sharp tongues are involved, so if you don’t mind some cussing and bitchiness, all’s well!

2 thoughts on “Review: Sisters of Blood and Spirit by Kady Cross

Leave a Reply

