Review: Bossypants by Tina Fey

Bossypants

Tina Fey, thank you for making awkward the new awesome! (Also, thank you for making my treadmill workouts not as boring!)

Title: Bossypants
Author: Tina Fey
Publication Date: January 1, 2011
Category: (Non-Fiction) Autobiography / Memoir / Humor

Introduction

Before Liz Lemon, before “Weekend Update,” before “Sarah Palin,” Tina Fey was just a young girl with a dream: a recurring stress dream that she was being chased through a local airport by her middle-school gym teacher. She also had a dream that one day she would be a comedian on TV.

She has seen both these dreams come true.

Discussion

So my first recommendation is that you get the audiobook version of Bossypants, which is narrated by Tina Fey herself and is twice as funny as the book version! I listened to the entire audiobook during my half-marathon training runs, and it made my life soooo much better.

I’m not naturally witty/funny, so I’m always in awe of people who are. Tina Fey is one of those people. I don’t usually watch SNL or know that many comedians in general, and the only thing I knew about Tina Fey was that she imitated Sarah Palin back in the day, but this book made me want to get to know her more. Fey speaks of her life experiences, beginning from awkward childhood all the way up until her first pregnancy… and she just makes everything sound so interesting! She doesn’t try to hard to be funny… she just IS. From her finding her first job to her relationships (which are slightly less terrible than usual but still more interesting because Tina Fey just presents them better), to her vacationing with her husband and her becoming The Boss, Tina Fey’s awkward and humorous tone shines through without fail. This collection of memories seems to work better when I listen to it vs. when I read it, since the prior makes me feel like I’m listening to a very talkative friend blabber on, and the latter makes me feel like I’m reading a book with no plot. But Tina Fey is just so freakin’ hilarious that I might not mind that much anyway.

Photoshop itself is not evil. Just like Italian salad dressing is not inherently evil, until you rub it all over a desperate young actress and stick her on the cover of Maxim, pretending to pull her panties down.

Conclusion

Bossypants is wonderful as an audiobook, although I can’t vouch for it as an actual book since I haven’t read it… but if you’re doing something tedious (like driving long-distance or running on the treadmill when you don’t want to), Tina Fey will make you LOL so much! (I think I’m the only person left who says LOL, but whatevs.)

12 thoughts on “Review: Bossypants by Tina Fey

    • Thanks, Claire! Let me know what you think if you get a chance to read it! Like I mentioned, not sure how the book version compares to the greatness that is the audiobook version. 😉

    • Haha, scattered was good for me, since I divided the entire audiobook into small chunks for my running sessions! 😛 Any suggestions for other/better humorous memoirs? I actually grabbed several others that I’ve heard of (ex. Chelsea Handler, Mindy Kaling, and David Sedaris’ books) but haven’t gotten to them yet.

Leave a Reply

