Study Hard, Read Harder (In Which I Sabotage Myself with Another Reading Challenge)

Because you know, nothing like doing a gazillion reading challenges at the same time to motivate myself to procrastinate read lots of books! With me being always on the look-out for fun reading challenges, it’s surprising how I missed Book Riot’s 2015 Read Harder Challenge (Goodreads group here). Unfortunately, I’ve read some
books on this list already and have 3 months left to go to make up for any that I haven’t done! Screw studying Of course I’m going to focus on school first, but a girl’s gotta have fun! 😉 Like all the other challenges I have ongoing done, this one might take me another three years or so longer than expected. But that’s okay! I think of a reading challenge as less of a time-related challenge and more of a trying-new-things challenge.

☐ A book written by someone when they were under the age of 25 (Eldest by Christopher Paolini)
☐ A book written by someone when they were over the age of 65 (A Mercy by Toni Morrison)
☑ A collection of short stories (either by one person or an anthology by many people) (True Stories, Well Told by Lee Gutkind & Hattie Fletcher)
☑ A book published by an indie press (Escape from the Ivory Tower by Nancy Baron)
☐ A book by or about someone that identifies as LGBTQ (The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)
☑ A book by a person whose gender is different from your own (Faster, Higher, Stronger by Mark McClusky)
☐ A book that takes place in Asia (Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See)
☐ A book by an author from Africa (Conversations With Myself by Nelson Mandela)
☑ A book that is by or about someone from an indigenous culture (Native Americans, Aboriginals, etc.) (The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie)
☑ A microhistory (Gulp by Mary Roach)
☑ A YA novel (Sisters of Blood and Spirit by Kady Cross)
☑ A sci-fi novel (Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry)
☑ A romance novel (Small Blessings by Martha Woodroof)
☐ A National Book Award, Man Booker Prize or Pulitzer Prize winner from the last decade (The Emperor of All Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee)
☑ A book that is a retelling of a classic story (fairytale, Shakespearian play, classic novel, etc.) (The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale)
☑ An audiobook (Bossypants by Tina Fey)
☑ A collection of poetry (Dog Songs by Mary Oliver)
☑ A book that someone else has recommended to you (You Are Not So Smart by David McRaney)
☐ A book that was originally published in another language (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson)
☑ A graphic novel, a graphic memoir or a collection of comics of any kind (Hi, have you met Panels?) (Cross Game by Mitsuru Adachi)
☑ A book that you would consider a guilty pleasure (Read, and then realize that good entertainment is nothing to feel guilty over) (Wallbanger by Alice Clayton)
☐ A book published before 1850 (Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen)
☑ A book published this year (Wild Hearts by Jessica Burkhart)
☑ A self-improvement book (can be traditionally or non-traditionally considered “self-improvement”) (The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin)

16/24

Do you like reading challenges?
Are you doing any right now?

10 thoughts on “Study Hard, Read Harder (In Which I Sabotage Myself with Another Reading Challenge)

  1. I’m doing three challenges this year, including this one. I keep getting distracted by other books, and I can’t decide what to read for the self-improvement and indigenous culture categories. But I’m also a bit afraid that I am running out of time, so It looks like I’ll fail all three of my challenges. Oh well…

    • Wahhh I totally understand about getting distracted! But don’t think of it as “failing” – if you eventually get these challenges done, even if it’s a few months (or years, in my case) after the year ends, you’ve still succeeded! Don’t force yourself to read certain books if you’re not in the mood to read them… reading should be fun! 🙂

  2. The only type of challenge I do is trying to read more than I did the year before. I’m super competitive with myself, which is a problem, because obviously I can’t continue this trend indefinitely, haha.

    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is one of my favorite books! It’s very graphic, but it’s done in a way to state a message, not for the shock and awe factor. Have you seen the movie already?

    • Wow, major kudos to you for doing that! I like competing with myself physically (ex. weight-lifting), but for some reason can’t translate that to reading, meh.

      I haven’t seen the movie! Did you like it? (Was it as graphic as the book? If the book is graphic, I don’t know how I’ll react to the on-screen version, haha. Dan Brown books are also pretty graphic for my standards, and I was incredibly terrified by how graphic the movies are… Angels & Demons gave me nightmares.) I have the first three Millenium books, so I really need to start The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo!

      • Haha, and that’s the type of challenge I could never handle. 😀

        I think the movie was way more graphic than the book. It was pretty hard to watch. I’ve never seen a Dan Brown movie or read one of his books, so I can’t compare them. I just wanted to make sure you’re properly warned. I was not when I first saw the movie, eek. Also, the first part of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is one big info dump. It’s a slog to get through, but personally I think it’s more than worth it. I hope you like it!

    • Good luck next year! (You mean you’ve already given up for this year? 😂) All of my challenges just keep getting rolled over to the next month/year, so honestly, they’re just like more to-read lists instead of challenges at this point… (but still challenging in that I’m reading outside of my comfort zone, I guess!)

Leave a Reply

