Tag, You’re It! The TBR Tag

I got tagged by Mimi a long long time ago to talk about my TBR pile, so here goes! I’m usually pretty embarrassed about how big this pile has gotten, so hopefully it’s a bit more presentable now than when she asked me to do this, haha. 😳

1. How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

Mostly through Goodreads. I used to have an Excel sheet up until I scrapped my reading schedule… so now all the books on my shelf just stare at me accusingly every time I walk past them.

2. Is your TBR mostly print or eBook?

Print! I don’t have an eReader, so you can imagine how heavy my bags get when I go off to conferences or on vacation, since I always need to bring some books with me! My other option is reading on my computer, but I want to claw out my eyes after five minutes of trying to read like that. Ugh.

3. How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

I’ve realized how much happier I am as a so-called “mood reader” – I read whatever I feel like reading at that moment.

4. A book that’s been on your TBR the longest?

Sarah Addison Allen’s The Girl Who Chased the Moon – I’m usually merciless when I cull books from my TBR list, but this is one of those books that I really want to keep on it. I’ll get to it eventually!

5. A book you recently added to your TBR?

Rachel Caine’s Ink and Bone because it sounds amazing! Books about libraries/books are so enticing… plus, that cover!

6. A book on your TBR strictly because of it’s beautiful cover?

Wait, I thought people chose books 80% of the time based on the cover?! (Is it just me? Oops.) Victoria Schwab’s The Archived looks beautiful.

7. A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?

Peter Doherty’s semi-autobiographical work, The Beginner’s Guide to Winning the Nobel Prize. I added it because SCIENCE, but I just deleted it because TOO MUCH IMMUNOLOGY I’M SO DONE WITH THIS. My TBR is actually quite fluid nowadays – I look it over every few days and trim away the fat.

8. An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?

Susan Dennard’s Truthwitch because there’s just so much hype about it. I’m always a little wary when there’s this much excitement about a book though…

9. A book on your TBR that basically everyone has read but you?

Too many to count, but John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars. It’s been sitting on my shelf for the longest time, but arghhh. I’ll read it when the time is right. (I have no clue when that time is, but it’s definitely not now.)

10. A book on your TBR that everyone recommends you?

I haven't started The Kingkiller Chronicles yet but expectations are already sky high BECAUSE KVOTHE.

A post shared by Sophie (@papersophie) on

Patrick Rothfuss’s The Name of the Wind (yet another one that basically everyone has read but me). I started reading it at a friend’s house a few years back, but couldn’t borrow it then, and finally got my own copy… but haven’t started it again. This is one that I’m likely to get to before December though!

11. A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?

Stieg Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo because I haven’t read a mystery/thriller in so long!

12. How many books on your Goodreads TBR shelf?

384, give or take? It’s better than a few months ago, really! 👀

 

How does your TBR pile look?
Do you have more or less TBR books than me?

8 thoughts on “Tag, You’re It! The TBR Tag

  1. Ugh I finally got a Kindle back in the spring. I still read 95% of books as print, but it is super nice to not have to haul a truckload of books everywhere (because what could possibly worse than getting stuck someplace without something to read? The answer is NOTHING), especially when I was taking a relative to doctor appointments a LOT in the spring… those times when you may be there for just 30 minutes, or you may be there for six hours… it’s nice to just bring the book I’m reading, the next book I’m going to read, and then the Kindle with a million backup books haha. Also, it allows me to indulge in my werewolf books/P&P retellings that are actually really terrible without getting super judged by my husband haha So yeah anyway, I like it sometimes, but I still mostly read print because… BOOKS.

    • As a bystander, it irks me when I see an eReader just because I’d want to know what you’re reading (because I’m nosy like that, haha), but it’s definitely a plus if you have guilty pleasures like werewolf books! 😛

  2. Yikes, 384 books on my TBR would stress me out, haha. I have 166 books on my to-read shelf, which is still enough to make me shudder. I made an exclusive “maybe” shelf a few months ago, which has helped me a ton! That way I can save books to think about later without clogging up my actual TBR. I love going through my Goodreads shelf and removing books, it’s a very satisfying feeling.
    The Name of the Wind is amazing, I’m looking forward to hearing what you think!

    • It does feel stressful! But I have 2 TBR lists, one for books I already own (which is 213) and one for books I don’t own, so I try to prioritize the first one. I like removing books too and checking them off my list! 🙂 I feel almost ready to start The Name of the Wind – will definitely rant to you about it afterwards!

      • *faints* That is…wow. Wowwww. I was going to say that I have tons of fantasies to recommend that AREN’T from the last two years, but if you already own 213 unread books, maybe you should start with those. 😄 (Besides Daughter of the Forest, of course.) I’m looking forward to hearing about The Name of the Wind and also The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo!

        • Ahaha, but but but the books I own are also older books! I have a (bad) habit of having to read the books I gift to other people before I actually give it to them (just to make sure it’s good!)… bah, so many books to read, so little time.

Leave a Reply

