Paper Puffs (48): December Recap

newsI totally disappeared again this holiday break, and I think I’ll have to accept the fact that my winters will be mostly Internet-less – but not book-less! I reviewed lots of wonderful books in December, and I’m so excited to list them all here. 😊

BOOKS, RANKED

DID NOT FINISH

Jessica Lemmon’s A Bad Boy for Christmas started off wonderfully (“Glitter. Glitter everywhere.”) but the pacing was too slow for me. I dropped David Sedaris’s Me Talk Pretty One Day and came to the conclusion that I’m so much more engaged and interested when I listen to humor audiobooks compared to when I read the physical books… I couldn’t get into Claudia Gray’s A Thousand Pieces of You – I quit a few pages in, and now I’m doubting my interest in parallel universe stuff as a whole. The final book is one that I really, really wanted to continue but didn’t was Tanya Huff’s Sing the Four Quarters. I remember being obsessed with the second and third books of the Quarters series years ago, but never read the first book. This first book felt a bit convoluted, and I had a hard time immersing myself in the book-world. I guess I’ll try the second book, Fifth Quarter, and hope that I like it as much as I did before!

BOOKS TO READ IN 2016

Moving forward into the new year, I already know that I’ll be reading a lot less than previous years because of school, so I’m setting a very conservative goal of 52 books (compared to 94 books in 2014 and 89 books in 2015).

How did your holidays go?
What books did you enjoy reading this month?
What books are you looking forward to reading in 2016?

Leave a Reply

